Scientific Advisory Board

The Max Planck Institute is regularly scientifically evaluated in order to ensure the high quality and productivity of its work in the long term. A core component of this evaluation is the independent advisory board, 90% of whose members come from other research institutes, and over half of them are from abroad. The advisory board evaluates the work of the Max Planck Institute every two years. Its members are appointed by the president of the Max Planck Society.


The ongoing evaluation of the institute by the advisory board is complemented by further processes. In particular, this includes the appointment of new scientific members and directors to the Max Planck Institute, as well as the success of the institute in acquiring third party funds and the evaluation of their subprojects in special research areas with neighboring universities.

Current members of the Scientific Advisory Board:

Prof. Dr. Zea Borok

Keck School of Medicine

University of Southern California (CA)

Los Angeles, USA

Prof. Dr. Shaun Coughlin

Novartis Institutes for Biomedical Research

Cambridge (MA), USA

Prof. Dr. Britta Engelhardt

Medizinische Fakultät

Universität Bern

Bern, Switzerland

Prof. Dr. Axel Haverich

Klinik für Herz-, Thorax-, Transplantations- und Gefäßchirurgie

Medizinische Hochschule Hannover

Hannover, Germany

Prof. Dr. Brigid L. M. Hogan

Department of Cell Biology

Duke University Medical Center

Durham, USA

Prof. Dr. Philip W. Ingham

Living Systems Institute

University of Exeter

Exeter, UK

Prof. Dr. Nick Morell

Cambridge Cardiovascular

University of Cambridge, Addenbrooke’s Hospital

Cambridge, UK

Prof. Dr. Tatiana Petrova

Department of Oncology

University of Lausanne

Epalinges, Switzerland

Prof. Dr. Frédéric Relaix

Institut Mondor de Recherche Biomédicale

Université Paris-Est Créteil Val de Marne

Creteil, France

Prof. Dr. Nadia Alicia Rosenthal

Australian Regenerative Medicine Institute

Monarch University

Clayton, Vic, Australia

Prof. Dr. Uwe Strähle

Institute of Toxicology and Genetics

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen, Germany

Prof. Dr. Stephen J. Tapscott

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Seattle, USA

© 2019 Max Planck Institute for Heart and Lung Research, Bad Nauheim, Germany